Fudgy Brownies {Gluten and Dairy Free with Vegan Option}

Standard

brownies 2

Ah yes. The age old question: Cakey or fudgy? In reference to brownies, of course. Excuse me, but if brownies are cakey, then they’re cake, not brownies.  Brownies in my book have to be fudgy. Not to say that I won’t eat them if they’re not. Why waste perfectly good chocolate cake, right?

I have made my fair share of “healthified” brownies using applesauce, less butter, less oil, etc. I’ve also just tried new recipes using different flours (I’m looking at you, pecan flour) in search of a fudgy brownie my brownie loving husband would  enjoy. And well, let’s just say he’s a tad picky when it comes to one of his favorite treats so if there’s even a hint of cakiness, I hear about it. So whenever I try something new that doesn’t quite match the results of my tried and true recipe, he asks, “Why did you have to experiment? They were already awesome!”

What’s the fun in always making the same thing, I say? I wouldn’t be here today writing to you if I didn’t experiment. That said, I’m through experimenting with brownies for my husband. Enough tweaks, enough substitutions. This is my recipe, and while it may not be the lowest calorie one out there, it satisfies that craving for something rich, moist, dense, and chocolatey. It also makes my husband yell “Yay!” like a happy little boy when I tell him I’m making them.

These fudgy brownies are gluten-free, dairy-free, with a vegan option. They also pair very well, I might add, with a scoop of ice cream and my vegan hot fudge.

brownies 1

Yield 15 brownies.

Ingredients

  • 2 oz unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1/2 cup vegan butter (such as Earth Balance) or dairy butter
  • 6 T Dutch process cocoa powder (such as Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 organic egg OR 1 T flax seed meal mixed with 3 T water – allow to sit 5 minutes
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 cup gluten free flour blend (I use 1/3 cup each millet, sorghum, and potato starch) OR white whole wheat flour
  • 1 t xanthan gum (omit if using wheat flour)
  • Optional: 1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts, pecans, or peanuts. May also substitute almond or peppermint extract for the vanilla for a different spin of the traditional brownie. I sprinkled a handful of vegan chocolate chips on top.
  • May omit cocoa powder and canola oil and replace with 2 oz more unsweetened chocolate if desired.

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Place butter and unsweetened chocolate in large microwave safe bowl and microwave about 90 seconds to 2 minutes or until butter has melted. Whisk until all of the chocolate has melted. Add cocoa powder and canola oil if using and blend well. Add sugar and mix. Next, add vanilla, egg or flax egg, and whisk well. Add salt, flour of choice, and xanthan gum. Stir until combined. Dough will be rather thick.
  • Spread evenly in greased 11″ X 7″ baking dish (9″ X 13″ will work, but the brownies will be more thin) and bake for 27-28 minutes. A toothpick inserted in center should have fudgy crumbs on it. Do not overbake! Allow to cool on wire rack then enjoy.

brownies 3

What’s your favorite kind/type of brownie? Links welcome.

Leave a comment